A car accident is one event you want to avoid, but since you cannot control other drivers, you need to know what not to do after an accident. Below are three things to remember.
Don't Admit Fault
The first thing to remember is to avoid apologizing or admitting fault in the accident. Even if you believe you may be the reason it happened, the accident site is not the place to say this. Instead, you need to stay calm and seek medical attention for anyone who was hurt. By doing this, you ensure that all injuries are tended to quickly.
If the police come to the scene, you only need to tell the cop everything from your perspective. Do not say you are guilty of anything, because your statement will be used against you if criminal charges or a civil suit is filed with the courts.
Remember to Report It
If you choose not to involve in the police for a minor accident, you need to know if this is legal in your state. Many states have very specific laws about reporting car accidents and the time frame you have available to do so. For example, when the accident does not result in a death or injury, some states require you to file a police report if the damage is over a specific amount. North Carolina is one of these states, and requires a police report for accidents that result in over $1,000 in damages.
Other states, such as Nevada, requires a report of the crash to be filled out if anyone is hurt or killed and if the damages are $750 or more. However, in Nevada, you only have 10 days to send the report into the appropriate agency. Many people may not know these laws, which is why it is important to check your state guidelines even after a minor accident. This way if your state requires immediate notification, you can get the paperwork done quickly.
Consult a Lawyer
No matter who is at fault for the accident, you want to consult a lawyer. Many people forget to do this until the courts get involved. By talking to the lawyer, you will know what type of penalties or punishments the courts can give you if it is determined you were at fault. The lawyer may be able to minimize these through negotiations with the courts or the lawyer for the other person involved in the accident.
Unfortunately, the guilty party of a minor accident may try to sue you for damages, claiming the accident was your fault. This can happen if the cops did not view the accident scene and a police report was not made. The lawyer can help come with a plan to help prove your innocence or get the case thrown out due to lack of evidence.
Avoiding a few actions can make the aftermath of an accident easier to handle. For this reason, you want to know what to do after an accident in your state. Visit http://www.hardeeandhardee.com for more information.